Courses Offered

The University currently offers B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) (Five years integrated programme), LL.M. (One year programme), Ph.D. and such other programme in accordance to such syllabus for each of the above courses as approved by the Executive Council on the recommendation of the Academic Council. The number of seats in each course shall be such as may be fixed from time to time by the Academic Council on the recommendation of the Director .

Eligibility for degrees offered:

    A candidate is not eligible for the degree of B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) unless he/she has:
  • Passed, not less than five years previously, the Intermediate/Higher Secondary School Examination (10+2) or an equivalent Examination from a University/recognized Board, and.
  •  Has undergone a regular course of study in the University for a period of five academic years.
  • No candidate shall be eligible for the degree of LL.M. unless he has:
  • Passed, not less than two years previously, B.A. LL.B. (Hons.)/B.Sc. LL.B. (Hons.) degree of this University or LL.B. five years or LL.B. three years degree of a recognized University; and .
  • Has undergone a regular course of study in the University for a period of two academic years.




LL.M Curriculum


The admission shall be based on the performance in the Common Law Admission Test. However, to qualify for admission, the candidate:

  • must have passed the Higher Secondary School Examination (10+2) or an examination equivalent thereof, securing in aggregate not less than 45% (40% in case of SC/ST candidates of U.P.) of the total marks.
  • must not have completed 20 years(22 years in case of SC/ST candidates of U.P.) of age as on 1st July.

The Candidates, who have appeared in the qualifying examination and awaiting for their results, may also write the Admission Test but their admission shall be subject to the fulfilment of the requirements in (a) and (b) above at the time of admission.


The intake capacity of B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) Programme shall be 160 (one hundred sixty) + 16 NRI Seats per year with the following break-up:-

S.No. Category No. of Seats
1. Unreserved : 80
2. O.B.C. of Uttar Pradesh : 43
3. Scheduled Caste of Uttar Pradesh : 34
4. Scheduled Tribe of Uttar Pradesh : 03
4. NRI : 16

Horizontal Reservation to the following categories shall also be available as mentioned below:-

1. Persons with Disability (PWD) : 03%
2. Dependents of Freedom Fighters of Uttar Pradesh : 02%
3. Sons/daughters of defence personnel deployed in Uttar Pradesh or defence personnel of Uttar Pradesh either retired or killed/disabled in action : 05%
4. Women candidates : 20%


Year Ist Semester IInd Semester
  (i) Foundation of Law (i) Basics of Legislation
  (ii) Basics of Case Law (ii) Language of Law
  (iii) Liberal Subjects I** (iii) Liberal Subjects II**
  (iv) Liberal Subjects I** (iv) Liberal Subjects II**
  (v) Law of Torts (v) Law of Contract-I
  (vi) English-I (vi) English-II
IIIrd Semester
IVth Semester
  (i) Criminal Law-I (i) Criminal Law-II
  (ii) Constitutional Law-I (ii) Constitutional Law-II
  (iii) Liberal Subjects III** (iii) Family Law
  (iv) Liberal Subjects III** (iv) Public International Law
  (v) Law of Contract-II (v) Jurisprudence
  (vi) Moot Court and Clinical Legal Education-I (vi) Moot Court and Clinical LegalEducation-II
    Vth Semester   VIth Semester
  (i) Law of Property-I (i) Law of Property-II
  (ii) Corporate Law-I (ii) Corporate Law-II
  (iii) Criminal Procedure Code (iii) Intellectual Property Rights Law-I
  (iv) Law of Evidence (iv) Civil Procedure Code & Limitation Law
  (v) Banking Law (v) Drafting, Pleading & Conveyance
  (vi) Interpretation of Statues (vi) Administrative Law
    VIIth Semester   VIIth Semester
  (i) Legal Research & Writing (i) Conflict of Law
  (ii) Intellectual Property Rights Law-II (ii) World Legal Systems
  (iii) International Trade Law (iii) Alternative Dispute Resolution Law
  (iv) Law of Taxation-I (iv) Law of Taxation-II
  (v) Seminar Course (v) Insurance Law
  (vi) Environmental Law (vi) Seminar Course
    IXth Semester   Xth Semester
  (i) Investment and Security Law (i) Human Right Laws
  (ii) Labour Law (ii) Cyber Law
  (iii) Seminar Course (iii) Seminar Course
  (iv) Seminar Course (iv) Seminar Course
  (v) Seminar Course (v) Seminar Course
* The syllabus may be subject to change from time to time as may be decided by the competent
** The students are required to opt any two Liberal Courses out of Economics, History, Political
Science, Psychology and Sociology.

Seminar Courses

Semester Name of the course Semester Name of the course
(i) Consumer Protection Law
(i) International Environmental Law
  (ii) Child Law   (ii) Air and Space Law
  (iii) Disability Law   (iii) Legislative Drafting
  (iv) Law and Society   (iv) Law of Local Self Government
  (v) Feminist Jurisprudence   (v) Law and Morality
  (vi) Law and Education   (vi) Law and Agriculture
  (i) Natural Resource and Energy Law   (i) Law, Science and Technology
  (ii) Health Law   (ii) Law and Media
  (iii) Transportation Law   (iii) Emigration Law
  (iv) Criminology and Penology   (iv) International Dispute Resolution Bodies
  (v) Humanitarian Law   (v) Socio Economic Offence
  (vi) Corporate Governance   (vi) IPR Law and Information Technology
  (vii) International Commercial Arbitration